Amnesty Committee inaugurated in Imo state.



Governor Rochas Okorocha, has inaugurated the Amnesty Committee which will be chaired by the first lady of the state, Nneoma Nkechi Okoroch. The Transition Committee chairmen of the oil producing local government areas of Ohaji/Egbema and Oguta, Assembly members from the two state constituencies, the managing director of Imo State Oil Producing Areas Development Commission (ISOPADEC) and the Special Assistant to the Governor on Niger Delta, are listed as members.

In the terms of reference to the Amnesty Committee, the governor charged the Amnesty Committee to come up with programmes and ideas that would ensure the sustenance of the peace recently restored in the oil producing areas of Ohaji/Egbema and Oguta following the positive response of the Avenger militants fighting in the areas to the governor’s call on them to drop their guns and embrace peace.

In addition, the committee has been directed to address all the issues the repented militants had raised when they surrendered. It may be recalled that last week, the Avenger militants fighting in the oil producing areas of Ohaji/Egbema and Oguta embraced peace and surrendered their arms to the Imo state government.




Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.